SWEET SIN| JAACHI ANYATONWU

SWEET SIN

I think I’ve seen the devil
He’s a fine lady in red.
I know I shouldn’t return the smiles
but look, she’s got no fork tail
though all black like devil in folktales
There’s dark beauty in her black
There’s magic in her smiles
And I’m smitten.
There’s a smirk on her face
this lady across the lane
She smiles and then waves
I don’t know, but I did same.
Sweet temptation this is
but there’s no hell in her eyes;
Why not dive and get a ride?

This is the plight of most Christians
when the fruit dazzling dangles
mesmerizing our holy minds
with allures only heaven can match…
It hisses, ‘hey just a bite’
A bite will feel like bliss:
There’s grace, heaven we won’t miss.
We know this sin is sin
But oh, dear Lord, look how tis sweet!
We know the father frowns at it
but flesh and blood, the weakling
subdues the spirit’s whisper…
And forward we lurch
We pluck and munch
Relish the taste and moan along…
Then cringe in pain
And pray for grace
When our innards churn
And the serpent rage.

I think I’ve seen the devil
I kissed her lying luscious lips.
It did taste great
But I’m fallen from grace
My soul’s on fire
Hell was in her eyes.

WRITER’S BIOGRAPHY

Jaachi Anyatonwu is a poet, editor and publisher living in the suburbs of Aba. He is passionate about discovering new voices and mentoring emerging poets. He also a fierce advocate for the boy child and sexually molested. He is @jaachi-anyatonwu on Facebook and Twitter and @jaachi-anyatonwu on Instagram.

Published by arcuuteinspirationalpen

Olajide Gbenga Emmanuel popularly known as Gbengar Emmarnuel Arcuute. He is a poet, blogger, short story-writer and motivational speaker. He has won a lot of accolades to his credit both home and abroad He is a native of Akure in Ondo state FB ID-gbengar emmarnuel arcuute

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started